I went crazy at the farmer's market! First time I've been in a couple weeks. I always forget how great their selection is!Today I am making homemade. salsa:) First, I rough chopped 4 cups of tomatoes. This was about 3 large tomatoes.
Picture
rough chopped tomatoes
Next, I diced 2 cups of sweet southern onions.
Picture
diced onion, 2 cups
I didn't want the salsa to be too mild, so I de-seeded and diced 2 jalapeños. I also diced one medium sized red pepper for flavor. I just added these on top of my onions since it isn't an exact measurement.
Picture
diced onion, jalapeƱo and red peppers
I went and picked cilantro from our garden. I paired this with red pepper flakes, garlic, salt and pepper, the juice of 2 limes and 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar. I had a taste test after I simmered it on the stove for about 2 hours. It was perfect! I hot-water canned our salsa to use when we get the winter blues:)
This recipe yielded about 4 jam jars.



Leave a Reply.