In pursuit of being healthy and trying to stay green, canning seems like the fool proof option!I have been putting off canning for about 2 years now. Mostly, afraid of failing miserably. When we got down to the last spoonful of strawberry jelly AND strawberries were on sale, I took it as a sign to attempt canning. The hardest thing was figuring out which way was the 'right' way to can. Every thing I've read was slightly different and sworn by. I picked bits from each story and found my own way.First, I got 12 lids and jars together and clean. I started my canning concoction. I took all the metal lids and started them in a soup pan with water to warm them but making sure they never came to a boil.
I started a large stock pot on the stove with a decent amount of water. Next, I warmed all of the jars. I've read that the most common cause of a cracked jar is putting hot food into a room temperature jar. I used a canning funnel to fill all of the jars to the water fill line. I had an extra little bit so I put them in a jar and into the fridge for immediate use. Then I used the magnetic lid lifter to place the metal lids on the jars. I tightened the lids as tight as a normal jar. Once this was done, I nervously placed them into my stock pot of pre-warmed water.
I let these boil for about ten to fifteen minutes. I used the jar-grabber to get them out of the water and set them on the counter to cool. Within five minutes I could hear the seals popping closed. I was happier than a kid at Christmas!

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.